The Climate Change Executive Order (19-37) also created the Governor’s Advisory Council on Climate Change. The advisory council will work together with the Climate Change Subcabinet to identify opportunities for, and barriers to, policies and strategies to reduce GHG emissions and increase climate resiliency.


The advisory council meets on a regular basis. Details and meeting materials are available here: Advisory council meetings.

Advisory council members

The advisory council is comprised of up to 15 members appointed by the Governor, and includes civic and community leaders, individuals with experience in business, agriculture, conservation, environmental protection, and other relevant stakeholders.

  • Kelly Applegate – Princeton
  • Peter Aube – Bemidji
  • Mindy Granley – Duluth
  • J. Drake Hamilton – Saint Paul
  • Patrick Lunemann – Clarissa
  • Hilda Martinez Salgado – Minneapolis
  • Josiah McClellan – Arden Hills
  • Ann Mulholland – Saint Paul
  • Micah Niermann – Minneapolis
  • Bethany Owen – Duluth
  • Kevin Pranis – Saint Paul
  • Alex Savelli – Edina
  • Anne Schwagerl – Browns Valley
  • David Sunderman – Madison Lake
  • Luisa Trapero – Saint James